Here’s Where Georgia Ranks in Drunk Driving Study

Here’s Where Georgia Ranks in Drunk Driving StudyA recent study conducted by Safewise ranked the U.S. states to determine which states have the largest number of drunk drivers. The survey also identified the states with a higher drunk driving danger than the ones where the roads are safer according to statistical analysis. The Sidewise study found Georgia ranked No. 21 out of 50. Based upon the methodology used in the study, Georgia had 3.51 deaths per capita in the year the study was done – 2017. The state with the most drunk driving deaths per capita was Wyoming, with 7.59 deaths per 100,000 people that year.

How Safewise Conducted Its Research

The researchers used newly-released information from the NHTSA, which shows the number of drunk driving deaths in all states in the year 2017. Then, they compared the numbers from that report for each state to the Census population numbers in 2017 to pinpoint the safest and most dangerous roads.

Georgia Shows Progress, But More Work to Be Done

We’re relieved that Georgia is not at the top of this notorious list. Drunk driving fatalities are a menace and a curse to our roads around the country. We hope that Georgia police crack down even more on drunk drivers, so that someday we will see no more fatalities from this scourge on Georgia roads. If you are ever injured by a drunk driver, know that Georgia is unique in that it offers financial assistance to the victims of drunk drivers.

If you complete an application with the state’s Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, you could receive this compensation:

  • Medical expenses up to $15,000
  • Funeral expenses up to $6,000
  • Counseling expenses up to $3,000
  • Economic support expenses up to $10,000
  • Crime scene sanitization up to $1,500.
Georgia also has a process where you can apply to have a memorial sign put up for any victim of a fatal drunk driving accident. It should be noted that not every victim will qualify for the compensation. Each application is reviewed in detail.

The general qualifications to get victim compensation are:

  • The victim of the DUI crash died or had very serious injuries.
  • The victim was not responsible for the accident.
  • The police were called within 72 hours of the accident.
  • The victim attempted to get compensation through auto and health insurance policies.
If all else fails, you should consider filing a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible driver. Not only could that driver get serious jail time, they may also have to pay you for your injuries or compensate you for the death of your loved one.

Were You Hurt By a Drunk Driver? Talk to The Mann Law Firm Now.

Drunk driving is still a serious problem in Georgia and across our country. If you or your loved one was injured by a drunk driver, you have a strong personal injury lawsuit claim. Be sure to reach out to the Mann Law Firm today for a free consultation about your accident case.