Get Help Now

No obligation – just help. Free initial consult.



Each state administers its own workers’ compensation program, and Georgia employers who have three or more employees are required to participate in this system of workplace insurance. Workers’ compensation is meant to pay medical, rehabilitation and income benefits for workers who are injured on the job. These benefits are meant to help workers recover from their injuries and return to work. Workers’ compensation also provides benefits to dependents of workers who die as a result of job-related injuries.

The Mann Law Firm helps Macon and Middle Georgia residents who have been injured in a workplace accident obtain the workers’ compensation benefits they deserve. If you have been injured on the job, or a member of your family has been killed in a workplace accident, contact a Macon work injury attorney at the Mann Law Firm today. Call us at (478) 742-3381 or through our online form for a free initial consultation about your legal options.

Every Georgia worker is automatically covered by workers’ compensation insurance from the first day of their employment. Unfortunately, workers’ comp benefits are not that automatic. Too many times, benefits are denied or they are not enough to cover the needs of the injured worker.


A work injury can cause a major disruption in your life. Your health is affected, but so are your career, finances, and wellbeing. All states, including Georgia, have a workers’ compensation system that can compensate you for some of the losses you incur and get you working again as soon as possible. This page explains the types and amounts of benefits available, so you can get paid while you are not able to work.

Types of Workers Comp Claims and Qualifications

If you are hurt or became ill because of the work you do, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. As long as you are an eligible employee, you may receive compensation no matter who was at fault for your injury. In exchange for having this protection, you forfeit the right to file a lawsuit against your company for damages, with a few very limited exceptions.

There are four eligibility requirements to receive these benefits:

  • You have to be an employee of the company.
  • Your employer must have workers’ comp insurance.
  • You must have an injury or illness related to your job.
  • You must meet the deadlines of your state for reporting your illness or injury and filing a claim.

Workers who suffer an illness or injury that prevents them from working on a temporary basis can obtain temporary disability benefits. There are two types:

  • 1. Temporary total disability: Available if your doctor determines you are unable to work. You may receive up to 2/3 of the average weekly salary you had at the time of your injury or illness. Unless the injury is catastrophic, you will not get benefits beyond 400 weeks from the date of injury.
  • 2. Temporary partial disability: Available if you can go back to work, but only in employment that involves less strenuous duty and less income than what you had before. You may be eligible to receive up to 2/3 of the difference between your average wage each week before and after your injury. Benefits will cease 350 weeks after the date of injury.

The other type is permanent disability. If your doctor determines that your injury is permanent, and it will keep you from going back to work for 12 months or more, you may receive temporary total disability for as long as you are disabled. If you are able to work but only at a job that pays you less, you can receive benefits according to an assigned disability rating.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Donec ac luctus neque. Proin posuere metus nec nunc aliquam, in imperdiet sapien bibendum. Nullam lorem sem, laoreet eget ante vitae, ultrices consequat lectus. In fermentum mi sed varius sollicitudin. Phasellus lacinia velit eu justo aliquet maximus. Praesent ullamcorper eu nulla a semper.


Workers’ compensation is an insurance program paid for by employers that provides medical, rehabilitation and income benefits to workers who are injured or made ill on the job. Workers who are unable to work for more than seven days are entitled to weekly income benefits based upon their earnings. Georgia’s workers’ comp program also provides benefits to dependents of workers who die as a result of a job-related injury. Any business in Georgia with three or more workers, including regular part-time workers, is required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance. Employees are covered as of their first day on the job. The State Board of Workers’ Compensation administers more than 100,000 claims every year, which result in hundreds of millions of dollars in benefits paid.


Employers in this state who have three or more workers must carry workers’ compensation insurance. They are required to participate in the program because it provides benefits to workers who are injured on the job. Benefits also provide much-needed assistance to dependents of workers who die from a job-related injury or occupational disease.


In Georgia, if your company has three or more employees and you have suffered a work-related injury or illness, you may file a civil lawsuit against the company to receive benefits and damages.


In Georgia, you must file a WC-14 with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. Send a copy of this form to your company as well as their workers’ compensation insurance company. The State Board of Workers’ Compensation can provide you with the form. Or, you can get a copy of the form from the Board website.

Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet Consectetor Domas Comcaal


If you have been injured on the job or have lost a loved one in a workplace accident anywhere in the Middle Georgia area, an experienced workers compensation lawyer from the Mann Law Firm can help you obtain the workers’ comp benefits that you need and deserve. Contact us today at (888) 381-8060 or through our online form, to schedule a free and confidential initial consultation about your case.

Work injury statistics:
  • It is estimated by the National Safety Council that a worker is hurt on the job every seven seconds.
  • There are 510 workers hurt every hour, and 12,300 per day. That is 86,500 per week, and 4.5 million per year.
  • Approximately 104,000,000 production days were lost to work-related injuries in 2016.
  • Most common types of injuries that prevent employees from working are sprains, tears and strains; soreness and pain in the back or neck; and cuts, lacerations and punctures.
  • The top three workplace injury events are overexertion; contact with objects and equipment; and slips, trips and falls.


Employers have several responsibilities under the workers’ comp system. Most employers with three or more employees must have coverage. If they do not, employees may be able to file a lawsuit against the company in civil court.

Employers also must post information in a convenient location that employees frequent during regular working hours. The notices should provide the name of the firm’s workers’ compensation carrier, and state that workers who are injured have a right to receive medical treatment and benefits. Details about workers’ compensation benefits also should be stated.

Employers must provide the injured employee with a workers’ compensation claim form within 24 hours of getting notice of the injury or illness. They also must provide each employee with written material about employees’ rights to receive workers’ comp.


Report the injury to your supervisor lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetor.

Ask to see the panel of physicians from your employer’s insurance company.

Select a physician from the panel lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetor.

If the doctor recommends physical restrictions at work, advise your supervisor about them.

Workers Compensation Process in Action

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Pellentesque pretium sit amet odio pretium imperdiet.

Claims Process

In Georgia, telling your employer about your injury is the first step to starting a workers’ comp claim. You must give prompt notice of the work-related injury in writing or orally. If you do not tell your employer about the injury within 30 days, you could forfeit the right to collect workers’ comp benefits.

You also must file Form WC-14 with the State Board and send a copy of the form to your employer and its workers’ comp insurance provider.

After you have reported the injury, your company must tell its insurance company. The workers’ comp provider will review the claim and determine whether you are eligible for benefits. It may review medical records, work experience, wages and education, and could order a medical evaluation to assess your physical condition.

If you are approved for benefits, the insurance provider must promptly pay benefits to you.

Your Responsibilities

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nam maximus justo sed est lacinia dignissim. Mauris a commodo massa. Orci varius natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Praesent leo neque, malesuada sit amet tempus eget, mollis ut elit. Aliquam erat dolor, blandit quis pellentesque nec, ultricies sit amet ipsum.

  • Report all workplace accidents and injuries right away when they happen on the job.
  • You must tell your employer if you have been hurt at work. This must be done within 30 days of the date of injury or when you first became aware of the work-related injury or illness.
  • You also have the responsibility to inform your doctor about your injury and how it occurred on the job.
  • You must accept reasonable medical treatments if ordered by the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
  • Submit to drug testing after a workplace accident, if the employer or workers’ compensation insurance company requires it.
  • Make only honest and true statements and claims to receive workers’ comp. You can be convicted of a misdemeanor if you make false or misleading statements to receive workers’ compensation benefits.
  • Report change in status to the provider of workers’ comp or your company.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas eget arcu vel felis volutpat laoreet sed vitae diam. In sodales nunc a quam dapibus blandit. Etiam dictum dapibus felis, id volutpat orci commodo vitae. Lorem ipsum sit amet dolor consectetor

Appeals Process

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Pellentesque pretium sit amet odio pretium imperdiet.

If Your Claim is Denied, you can Appeal

To start this process, you need to ask for a hearing with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. Unless your case is very simple, it is highly recommended that you hire a Georgia workers’ compensation attorney. The insurance company will have good attorneys, and you could be at a serious disadvantage without proper legal counsel.

Typical workplace accidents and injuries for which workers’ compensation benefits are paid:

  • Muscle, tendon, ligament strains or tears from excessive lifting, pushing, pulling, holding, carrying or throwing
  • Injuries caused by bending, climbing, reaching, standing, sitting, slipping or tripping without falling
  • Slipping and falling to the floor or ground or from one level to a lower level
  • Being struck by an object, such as a tool or piece of equipment or material falling from above
  • Being smashed against an object, such as a worker being pushed into a door or wall or piece of machinery
  • Being crushed by getting caught in, under or between pieces of machinery, equipment or objects
  • Exposure to extreme temperatures (i.e., burns or deep freezes)
  • Exposure to toxic chemicals
  • Motor vehicle accidents.

Lorem Ipsum Sub Header Here

Like many government programs, workers’ compensation does not always work as expected. And, as the program has been adjusted through the years, its rules and regulations have grown more complicated. Injured workers who are denied workers’ compensation benefits, or who are dissatisfied with the benefits they have been allocated, may request a hearing before the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. This hearing is before an Administrative Law Judge, who determines what benefits, if any, the worker should receive. “Your employer may be represented at the hearing by a lawyer,” the Board of Workers’ Compensation says in its FAQs about the workers’ comp program. “You may need help from a lawyer in order to present your claim properly.” Indeed, an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer like those at the Mann Law Firm can help you if you face problems applying for or appealing workers’ compensation benefits. People who are trying to recover from workplace injuries, or families coping with the loss of a breadwinner should receive the benefits they deserve and not be further burdened by government bureaucracy. But aggressive legal help is often required to realize this goal. A work injury lawyer from the Mann Law Firm will work to protect both you and your dependents while you recover and to secure the proper amount of workers’ compensation benefits for your accident. We will also fight to ensure your job is safe while you’re on leave.