Types of Workers Compensation Benefits
October 22, 2019
As of the end of March 2019, all school bus drivers in Georgia may need to be vetted twice per year by public safety officials. Georgia lawmakers recently passed a bus driver safety bill in the state Senate and House. The Georgia Senate passed the bill unanimously on March 26. The bill would... continue reading
May 2, 2019
For more than 45 years, the Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities program at the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has compiled statistics about injuries, illnesses and fatalities on the job in the U.S. According to a recent survey of the last 25 years of data, U.S. workers are getting injured less and... continue reading
If you are a worker in Georgia who suffered an injury or illness because of your job, you should be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.Employers in Georgia who have three or more employees are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. They must participate in a program that is designed to protect and provide benefits to workers just like you. Benefits can also assist dependents of workers who die as a result of their job-related injury or occupational disease. The Mann Law Firm wants you to be aware of the following types of workers’ compensation benefits that are available to qualifying Georgia workers or their surviving dependents:
Medical BenefitsThis is a dollar-for-dollar reimbursement of money spent on medical care related to your qualifying injury or illness. Your emergency treatment, tests, casts, operations, assistive devices, medications and therapy should all be covered. You should also be reimbursed for travel and other expenses related to your medical care.
Temporary Disability BenefitsWorkers who suffer an injury or illness that keeps them from returning to their job on only a temporary basis can obtain these benefits. They fall into two categories:
- Temporary total disability benefits – These benefits are available if a physician determines you cannot work. You can receive up to two-thirds of the average weekly wage you earned at the time of the injury or illness. Unless your injury is “catastrophic” (for instance, you lost a limb or suffered a severe burn), you won’t receive benefits beyond 400 weeks from the date of your injury.
- Temporary partial disability benefits – These benefits are available if you can return to work but only at a job that involves lighter duty and less pay than what you earned before. You can receive up to two-thirds of the difference between your average weekly wage before and after the injury. Your benefits would stop 350 weeks after the date of your injury.