How Your Insurance Policy May Provide Help in a Hit-and-Run Accident
Can I Use My Insurance to Pay for My Injuries?
In Georgia, Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage is optional, but many drivers have UM coverage as part of their policies without knowing it. Automobile insurance companies are required to offer drivers in Georgia at least $25,000 in uninsured bodily injury coverage per person and up to $50,000 per accident. Some policies may also have medical payments coverage, which can help pay for medical expenses for drivers and passengers.
If you’ve been injured in a hit-and-run accident, you may feel frustrated and helpless. The driver who hit you fled the scene, and you may face significant medical bills and lost wages.
The attorneys at Mann Law Firm are experienced hit-and-run accident lawyers who can review your insurance policy to determine what coverage is available to you. In addition, they can work with witnesses and investigators to try to identify the driver who hit you. Call today for a FREE consultation at 478-742-3381
Can’t Call? Click Here to fill out our form.
What Are the Penalties for a Hit and Run?
A Hit and Run Accident Lawyer in Macon, GA, Who Levels the Playing Field
Vehicle accidents happen every day, but a “hit-and-run” accident is most grievous due to its reflection on us as a society. We tend to believe that most people are good and will do the right thing when someone is harmed. To think that someone who caused a serious accident would choose to flee defies common decency; unfortunately, it happens often.
According to Georgia law, the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident is required to immediately stop the vehicle where the accident took place and . . .
- Give the name, address, and registration number of the vehicle they are driving;
- Show their driver’s license upon request;
- Render reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident, which includes transporting or making arrangements for transporting to a doctor or hospital if it is obvious that medical treatment is necessary or if the injured requests transportation;
- If an injured person is unconscious or is otherwise unable to communicate, then the driver must make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency responders are contacted to report the accident and make a request for medical assistance; and
- Remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling these requirements.
Leaving the scene of an accident is considered a hit-and-run. If someone leaves the scene of an accident and causes minor injuries or property damage, they may be charged with a misdemeanor. If someone leaves the scene of an accident that caused severe injury or wrongful death, that person may be charged with a felony.
Why Hire Us?
The Driver Who Hit You May Have Fled, but We Are Here by Your Side
- We listen, explain, and protect. We will listen to the details of your accident and explain the legal process. We will also help protect your rights and advise you on the best course of action to take to recover a fair settlement. We know whom to sue, when, and when to settle.
- We have a proven track record of success. We have recovered millions of dollars for our clients, and we are prepared to fight for your compensation. When you’re looking for a Macon hit-and-run lawyer, you want someone experienced, knowledgeable, and aggressive.
- We are dedicated to our clients. We understand your case’s importance to you, and we work to get results. We will investigate every detail and leave no stone unturned in our quest for justice. When you have a Macon, GA, hit-and-run accident lawyer by your side, you can focus on recovering from your injuries while knowing that your legal rights are being protected.
What’s the Difference between Uninsured Coverage and Underinsured Coverage?
Uninsured motorist insurance (UM) covers you and your passengers if you’re hit by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) protects you if you’re in an accident where the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages.
For example, if an uninsured driver hits you, your uninsured motorist insurance would cover your medical expenses. If an underinsured driver hits you, your underinsured motorist insurance would cover the difference between what their insurance pays and what you need.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance is important to have because it protects you in case of an accident with someone who doesn’t have proper coverage. For clarification of your auto insurance policy, a hit-and-run attorney is especially suited to review and explain the different types of insurance you may have available.
Common Causes of Hit-and-Run Accidents
Why do people ignore their conscience, risk a jail sentence, and leave the scene of an accident?
The most common causes of hit-and-run accidents are:
1. Lack of insurance
Lack of insurance is the most common factor, accounting for nearly a third of all hit-and-run accidents. It is estimated that the percentage of uninsured drivers in Georgia is 12.4%. Many drivers who flee the scene do so because they fear the consequences of being caught without insurance, which can include fines and possible driver’s license suspension.
Additionally, many uninsured drivers flee because they may be liable for the accident with no way to pay for the property damage and the injuries. To avoid getting a ticket or being sued, many uninsured drivers leave the scene of the accident.
2. Drinking and driving
Drinking and driving is another major contributing factor to hit-and-run accidents, as alcohol impairment can make it difficult to make sound decisions after an accident.
When a drunk driver causes an accident, they may feel scared and panicked. They may be worried about being arrested or facing other legal consequences. As a result, they think the best solution is to flee the scene of the accident.
If a drunk driver injures or kills someone in an accident, the driver may face even more serious charges, and their insurance rates will almost certainly go up.
Fleeing the scene of an accident is never a good idea, and drunk drivers should always stop and cooperate with the police.
3. Unlicensed driving
Unlicensed driving is also a problem, as unlicensed drivers are more likely to be uninsured and may not have a thorough understanding of traffic laws. When an unlicensed driver causes an accident, they may flee the scene out of fear of being arrested or facing legal consequences since driving without a valid driver’s license is a misdemeanor in Georgia.
Whatever the cause, hit-and-run accidents are a serious problem that often leaves victims injured and traumatized. Not only do hit-and-run accidents cause physical and emotional suffering for the victims, but it also denies them justice and, in some cases, ways to pay for their injuries.
In the end, hit-and-run drivers cause untold harm to everyone involved and must be held accountable for their actions.
If you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident, it is important to stay calm and call the police immediately.
Take Steps to Ensure That You Receive the Compensation You Deserve
At the Mann Law Firm, we have many years of experience with car accidents, and we take hit-and-run cases very seriously. We represent clients across Georgia, including residents of Macon, Dublin, Warner Robins, or Milledgeville. Contact us at (478) 742-3381 or through our online form for a free initial consultation.
Contact an Experienced Macon, GA, Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer
Feeling Stranded and Vulnerable? Talk With us today for Answers and Results.
If you or a loved one has been the victim of a hit-and-run, it is important to seek legal representation as soon as possible. Even if you have insurance, your own insurer may try to minimize any payout and hold back money for your pain and suffering.
If the hit-and-run driver was arrested, we help you file a lawsuit to recover compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and property damage, among other things.
If you don’t have coverage and the responsible party was never caught or didn’t have insurance, we still invite you to discuss your accident with one of our experienced attorneys. We will review your case and determine what options are available to you.
No matter what your situation, we are here to help. Call us today for a free consultation to discuss your accident with the hit-and-run accident attorneys of the Mann Law Firm. Let us evaluate your case and examine all potential avenues of recovery. Call us at (478) 742-3381 or use our convenient online contact form.
Do I Need an Attorney to Bring a Premises Liability Lawsuit?
An Attorney Can Help Win Compensation Property owners and managers are responsible for keeping their premises safe and in the condition that does not pose a risk of injury, illness, or death to others. If a property is not correctly maintained, or if it doesn’t have a sign that clearly warns about existing dangers, and you or a loved one was i......