Macon, Georgia Georgia Drivers Still Aren’t Getting the Message on Hands-Free Driving Lawyer

Georgia Drivers Still Aren’t Getting the Message on Hands-Free Driving

Drivers in the Peach State seem to be having trouble following Georgia’s new Hands-Free law, according to a recent survey conducted by AAA. Even with the new law that imposes penalties for driving while using a cell phone, it seems that far too many Georgians are addicted to texting and driving. The survey determined that 98% of drivers in the state know about the new law that bans using handheld cell phones while driving. But 30 days after the new law went into effect, Georgia drivers still text and drive. The survey found that 75% of respondents said they saw a driver with a phone in their hand, and 60% said they saw people texting and driving. Georgia Hands Free Law Details All drivers in Georgia should know about the new law that wen[...]...

Macon, Georgia A Closer Look at Georgia's Hands-Free Law Lawyer

A Closer Look at Georgia's Hands-Free Law

If you are one of those Georgians who likes to text, talk and drive while on a cell phone, you will want to know about the new hands-free law that went into effect in the state in May 2018. Signed into law by Governor Nathan Deal, it is now illegal to hold your phone while driving in Georgia. Reading from a phone or using it to record video is also illegal. Drivers caught breaking the new law – even as much as tapping a Play button on a cell phone playlist when the car is in motion – will face a fine of $50. This doubles to $100 for the second offense. According to the governor’s office, the aim of the new hands-free law in Georgia is to reduce the number of driving deaths in the state due to talking, texting, and driving. ‘No one w[...]...

Macon, Georgia Tips for Adapting to Georgia's New Hands-Free Law Lawyer

Tips for Adapting to Georgia's New Hands-Free Law

New Georgia Cell Phone Law 2018 As of July 1, 2018, drivers in Georgia will have to use a hands-free electronic device if they want to use it while behind the wheel. Governor Nathan Deal signed the legislation and made it law on May 1. The new law means it is illegal for drivers to hold a cell phone in their hand while they are driving. Also, drivers may not read or text while they are driving. Further, they cannot record/broadcast videos while they are driving. However, the law does allow drivers to touch the phone to make a call, answer or hang up. It also allows them to use a GSP navigator on a cell phone. HB 673 was passed because distracted driving continues to be a huge problem in Georgia and across the country, according to Harris Bl[...]...

Archives

How Often Do Car Accident Cases Go to Court?

Involvement in a vehicle crash can lead to trying days ahead, and you may be asking how often do car accident cases go to court? While the last thing you want to do is drag out the process and delay receipt of payments for medical expenses, replacement of p...